Contacts for headteachers

As part of the range of support Education Scotland is providing to remote learning, we have identified a named contact for headteachers in each local authority. This will allow headteachers across Scotland to have easy access to a single point of contact within Education Scotland.

The purpose of this contact is to point headteachers in the direction of Education Scotland resources and guidance to support their needs. Where relevant, we may also put them in contact with the appropriate teams within Education Scotland who will be best placed to provide the advice or support they require.

We will continue to work alongside practitioners, schools and local authorities to provide them with the support they need. Working with local authorities, we will continue to provide direct support that is responsive and targeted at school, community, local authority and regional level through our focus on ‘place’. Our strong national support and improvement ‘people’ offer is accessible for all practitioners.

The named contact for each local authority can be reached by using the email addresses below.

Local authority

Named contact

Email address

Aberdeen City

Alona Murray


Graeme Gordon


Noreen Phillips

Argyll & Bute

Maria Speirs


Tracie McEwan

Comhairle nan Eilean Siar/Western Isles

Louise Philips

Dumfries & Galloway

Jackie Maley


Graham Parry

East Ayrshire

Ken McAra

East Dunbartonshire

Margaret Paterson

East Lothian

Teri McIntosh

East Renfrewshire

Sheila Brown

Edinburgh City

Sandra Kehoe


Tricia Madden


Ann Kivlin


Liz Angus


Kath Crombie


Alison MacDonald


Susie Smith


Frances Graham

North Ayrshire

Sadie Cushley

North Lanarkshire

Steven McPherson

Orkney Islands

John Reilly

Perth & Kinross

Pam Adamson


Celia McArthur

Scottish Borders

Jim McCrory

Shetland Islands

Barbara Daly

South Ayrshire

John Paul Cassidy

South Lanarkshire

Rosalind Webster


Marion Carlton

West Dunbartonshire

Stuart Cathro

West Lothian

Scott Lavery