Scottish schools win National Teaching Awards on Thank a Teacher Day

It’s National Thank a Teacher Day and Education Scotland is delighted to once again support the event. Every year on National Thank A Teacher Day we celebrate schools, teachers and support staff across the country.

Thank a Teacher Day is an opportunity to celebrate the silver winners of the Pearson National Teaching Awards, an annual celebration of excellence in education, recognising the amazing work of teachers across the UK. We are delighted to announce that six of those Silver Award winners are from schools in Scotland.

The award for Head Teacher of the Year for Primary School goes to Gerard Curley from Neilston Primary School in East Renfrewshire and the award for Head Teacher of the Year for Secondary School goes to Alan Pithie from Auchmuty High School in Fife.

The awards for Digital Innovator of the Year go to Calum Coutts from Riverbrae Additional Support Needs School, Renfrewshire, and Michael Law from Park View Primary in Cambuslang, South Lanarkshire.

The award for Impact through Partnership goes to The Isle of Arran Cluster, Arran High School, North Ayrshire. And finally, the Award for Lifetime Achievement goes to Stuart Maxwell from Eastwood High School, East Renfrewshire.

The Silver Award winners will be put forward as finalists for the Gold Award winners in their category. The judging process will take place and announced later in the year.

Chief Inspector for Education and Chief Executive at Education Scotland, Gayle Gorman, said: “As we approach the summer break and reflect on the past year, it’s been incredibly challenging for everyone and these awards are a representation of the excellent work that continues to take place every day in Schools and establishments across Scotland.

“Congratulations to the Silver Award winners and a huge thank you to teachers and school staff for your continued hard work and dedication.”

You can find out more about Thank a Teacher Day including how to send an e-card to your school or teacher by visiting the Thank a Teacher Day website.