Professional Learning and Leadership Directorate

​​Our team has the strategic responsibility for ensuring high quality professional learning for education professionals across Scotland. We bring experience from right across the education system, where we work nationally, regionally and locally.

We are committed to an empowered education system, ensuring the best possible professional learning opportunities are made available to teachers at all levels and stages of their career. Our work is diverse and includes the facilitation of our own leadership programmes, collaboration with universities and local authorities in Scotland, engagement with international educators, national events such as the Scottish Learning Festival and the Scottish Education Awards, and the provision of learning activities and endorsed programmes through our online resource.​

Who’s who?

​Gillian Hamilton ​​Strategic Director
gillian.hamilton@educationscotland.gov.scot
​Lesley Whelan ​Head of Professional Learning and Leadership
lesley.whelan@educationscotland.gov.scot
​Linda Rae ​National Events Coordinator
linda.rae@educationscotland.gov.scot​
​Nick Morgan ​International Education Development Officer
nick.morgan@educationscotland.gov.scot​
​Annette Beaton ​Lead Specialist Leadership
annette.beaton@educationscotland.gov.scot​
​Gordon Bone ​Lead Specialist Leadership
gordon.bone@educationscotland.gov.scot​
​David Burgess ​Lead Specialist Leadership
Professional Learning and Leadership Key Contact for Tayside
david.burgess@educationscotland.gov.scot
​Alison Allan ​Lead Specialist Leadership
Professional Learning and Leadership Key Contact for South West
alison.allan@educationscotland.gov.scot​
​Andrew Travis ​Lead Specialist Leadership
Professional Learning and Leadership Key Contact for Northern Alliance
andrew.travis@educationscotland.gov.scot
​Alison Weatherston ​Lead Specialist Leadership
alison.weatherston@educationscotland.gov.scot​
​Stephanie Peat Lead Specialist Professional Learning
Professional Learning and Leadership Key Contact for Forth Valley and West ​ stephanie.peat@educationscotland.gov.scot​​
​Louise Sanders Lead Specialist Professional Learning
louise.sanders@educationscotland.gov.scot​​
​Lise McCaffery ​Lead Specialist Professional Learning
West Collaborative
lise.mccaffery@educationscotland.gov.scot
​Lesley Walker ​Lead Specialist Professional Learning
Professional Learning and Leadership Key Contact for South East
lesley.walker@educationscotland.gov.scot
​Lee Dunn ​Lead Specialist Professional Learning
Programme Endorsement and Online Learning
lee.dunn@educationscotland.gov.scot​

Contact Us

Professional Learning and Leadership Directorate

The Optima, 9th Floor, 58 Robertson Street, Glasgow, G2 8​DU

Email: edspll@educationscotland.gov.scot

Twitter: @EdScotPLL​​​​​