Boards and committees

All our Non-Executive Board members (NEBM) sit on the Advisory Board and some are also members of the Audit and Risk Committee.

The Advisory Board plays a crucial role in the strategic governance of Education Scotland. As a member of the Advisory Board, NEBMs offer leadership, direction and guidance to the organisation, supporting the Agency to deliver their corporate objectives and ensuring that it runs efficiently.

As part of the Audit and Risk Committee, NEBMs provide robust constructive challenge and scrutiny to support the Chief Executive in her role as Accountable Officer. This includes reviewing the effectiveness of internal control, risk management arrangements, financial information, and the integrity and independent audit of the Annual Report and Accounts.

As at 11 November 2019 our Non-Executive Board Members are:

John Fyffe (appointed November 2017)

John Fyffe BSc, Dip Tech Ed, Dip Ed Tech, Dip Prof Studies is a lifelong learner having left school at 16 and served an apprenticeship as a toolmaker. Since then he has had a long and distinguished career in education having taught in five schools before his appointment as a secondary headteacher.

John was a Corporate Director in Perth and Kinross for over 10 years where, as Executive Director of Education and Children’s Services, he successfully led sustainable service and corporate initiatives for the benefit of children and communities. John served as President of the Association of Directors of Education in Scotland between 2013 and 2015 and co-wrote its 20-20 vision strategy paper which has influenced current national policy.

John sat on numerous boards and working groups and recently was a member of Scotland’s Attainment Challenge Advisory Board, the DYW Advisory Board, Career Ready Scottish Board, Care Inspectorate High Level Working Group on the new Integrated Children's Services Inspection and Co-Chaired the National GIRFEC Implementation Group. Prior to his retirement in March 2018, he was Senior Depute Chief Executive with responsibility for Housing, Community Safety, Community Planning and Equalities.

David Gemmell (appointed July 2019)

David Gemmell BSc (Hons) is a Change Director with over 20 years experience working across public and private sector industries. His roles have spanned, business and technology change with some of the UKs best known corporations.

David spent some time teaching in Malawi prior to commencing his career in change delivery.

He has also been actively involved with the Boys Brigade movement in Scotland from boy to man including Captaining his local Company.

Kevin Kelman (appointed November 2019)

Kevin Kelman is Chief Operating Officer (People) and Chief Education Officer at Stirling Council, with strategic responsibility for Education, Children’s Social Services, Justice Service and CLD.

Kevin has a range of experience working in Early Years, Primary Education, Secondary education and Further Education. Kevin has worked in Higher Education at the University of Glasgow and in the third sector with Childline Scotland.

Kevin has written a range of articles, chapters and books on a range of educational themes.

Kevin is a member of the Forth Valley and West Lothian Regional Improvement Collaborative Directors’ Group, a member of the Association of Directors in Education in Scotland (ADES) Directors’ forum and a member of the Society of Local Authority Chief executives (SOLACE).

Ray McCowan (appointed July 2019)

Ray McCowan is the Director for WEA Scotland and a former Vice Principal of Edinburgh College where he had lead responsibility for curriculum, learning and teaching. He has strategic and organisational leadership experience as both an executive and non-executive director, is a qualified chartered director and a fellow of both the Institute of Directors and the Royal Society of the Arts. He is passionate about education and the life changing impacts and differences it can make to individuals and families. As an Advisory Board member, he aims to support the Chief Executive to ensure that the governance arrangements empower and enable everyone at Education Scotland to play their part in the delivery of a world class education to learners.

Lyndsay McRoberts (appointed November 2019)

Lyndsay McRoberts is currently headteacher of Duncanrig Secondary School in East Kilbride. Prior to this, Lyndsay was headteacher of Kyle Academy in Ayr and latterly, spending a period as Executive headteacher of Kyle and Ayr Academy in South Ayrshire.

Within her role as headteacher, Lyndsay led improvement work within the Local Authority and recently the Regional Improvement Collaborative.

She has a keen interest in system leadership and the contribution headteachers make to system improvement. She is an Associate Assessor and sits on the SQA Advisory Council.

Aileen Ponton (appointed July 2019)

Aileen Ponton has worked in education for over 30 years, currently as CEO of the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework Partnership. She was the first member of staff appointed to the organisation and had to put in place appropriate governance and reporting relationships. Prior to this she had three years working with the Sector Skills Development Agency and sixteen years with the SQA.

Aileen has experience of working across all education sectors and also has experience of Board and Senior Committees in Hong Kong, Macau and the Republic of Ireland. She hopes to use the mix of educational and governance experience to support the working of Education Scotland.

Declaration of Interests

PDF file: Non-Executive Board Members - Declaration of Interests (113 KB)

Register of Interests

PDF file: Non-Executive Board Members - Register of Interests (88 KB)

Code of Conduct

PDF file: Non-Executive Board Members - Code of Conduct (569 KB)