Catalog-Item Reuse

​Support available

What has Education Scotland provided?

Education Scotland, working with ADES, EIS, SLS and other partners, has published support materials on the NQ area of Glow to help staff develop programmes of learning. Further materials will be added as they become available.

These support materials, developed by teachers for teachers, are not intended to constrain staff, hence are neither prescriptive nor exhaustive. They provide suggestions on approaches to learning and teaching which will promote development of the necessary knowledge, understanding and skills in the subject.

Staff are encouraged to draw on these materials, and existing materials, to develop their own programmes of learning which are appropriate to the needs of learners within their own context.

Education Scotland National Qualifications website

This website provides:

  • Professional Focus Papers for National 1, National 2, National 3, National 4 and National 5 – these are intended to stimulate professional reflection and dialogue. They highlight important features of learning which are enhanced or different.
  • Route maps through assessment for National 4 and National 5 – these contain important information about learning, teaching and assessment. They provide a sequential list of the key guidelines, advice and support for the new qualifications.
  • Route maps through learning, teaching and assessment for all Higher and Advanced Higher courses. They provide links to useful resources to help teachers develop programmes of learning and a sequential list of the key guidelines, advice and support for the new qualifications.
  • Subject-specific support for every curricular area.

NQ Course materials on GLOW (login and password required)

You can access:

  • Materials for units at National 1 and materials for courses at National 2, National 3, National 4, National 5, Higher and Advanced Higher.

How will literacy and numeracy skills be recognised?

The development of literacy and numeracy skills is the responsibility of all in Scotland’s education system.

Literacy and numeracy skills are expected to be developed within all National Courses and how this takes place will vary from Course to Course, depending on the context/subject area.

The new National Literacy Units form a mandatory part of English and Gàidhlig Courses at National 3 and National 4. A stand-alone National Literacy Unit is available at National 5 and it is possible that work done by learners in National 5 English could contribute to evidence for the Unit at this level.

The National Numeracy Units form a mandatory part of Lifeskills Mathematics Courses at National 3, National 4 and National 5, and of the National 4 Mathematics Course.

The Literacy and Numeracy Units are available on a freestanding basis at SCQF levels 3, 4 and 5 for all learners, including adult learners.

Our newsletters provide the latest information on education news and events, as well as details of resources and activities to help you support your child's learning.