Scotland’s inspirational achievers are awarded recognition for Learning for Sustainability

Education Scotland is delighted to announce the winners of the Learning for Sustainability Awards.

The awards – held in partnership with the Daily Record - recognise the amazing achievements of Scotland’s people and the settings, schools and communities that have demonstrated passion and commitment to building a socially-just, sustainable and equitable world.

The COP26 Summit beginning next week provides a unique opportunity to recognise and celebrate innovation in the Scottish education system and our commitment to Learning for Sustainability (LfS). Within Scotland’s curriculum, LfS is recognised as an entitlement for all learners and a recent international PISA study showed that our learners are world-leading global citizens.

The Scottish Government identified 'People' as a key theme for the COP26 Summit and has declared that it wants it to be the most inclusive COP summit ever to be held. This includes a strong focus on young people and in engaging disadvantaged and hard-to-reach communities.

The Awards support these ambitions and help to highlight those who have demonstrated passion and commitment to Learning for Sustainability.

Nominations for the six categories - which includes winners and highly commended awards - closed on 12 September and were for recognition across the following areas:

Community Learning and Development Award, Educational Supporter Award, Leadership Award, Practitioner Award, Youth Award and Learning Community Award. The winners were announced by the Daily Record today.

Full list of winners :-

Learning for Sustainability Community Learning and Development Award

Winner - The Intergenerational Forget Me Not Gardening Group

Winner - Glasgow Science Centre

Highly commended - St Paul’s Youth Forum

Highly commended - North Lanarkshire Youth Climate Ambassadors

Highly commended - Dyslexia Scotland


Learning for Sustainability Educational Supporter Award

Winner - Trudi Togneri, Stirling High School

Winner - Jackie McMaster, City of Glasgow College

Highly commended – Neil and Charlotte Smith-Mégret, Rubbish Paddlers

Highly commended - Howard Beck

Highly commended - Marie Leck, Young Enterprise Scotland


Learning for Sustainability Leadership Award

Winner - Jennifer Hutton, Dunblane Primary School

Winner - Debbie Matthewson, Stow Primary School

Winner - Lesley A Morrison, Westercraigs Nursery School

Winner - Elizabeth Langlands, Northmuir Primary School

Winner - Rebecca Favier, St Andrew’s Fox Covert RC Primary School

Highly commended - Iona McCroary, Stirling Secondary Autism Provision St Modan’s High School


Learning for Sustainability Practitioner Award

Winner - Fraser Boyd, Robert Douglas Memorial School

Winner - Angela Yekken, St Ninian’s High School

Winner - Keri Reid, Muthill Primary School

Highly commended - Melissa Dunn, Southdale Primary School

Highly commended - Denise Harvey, Ardrossan Academy

Highly commended - Seonaid Forrester, Renfrew High School


Learning for Sustainability Youth Award

Winner - Mathew Ritchie

Winner - Callum Isted

Winner - Children’s Parliament Investigators for Scotland’s Climate Assembly

Highly commended – The children of Sunnyside ELC

Highly commended - Alloa Academy ASN class


Learning for Sustainability Learning Community Award

Winner - Stow Primary School

Winner - Dunblane Primary School

Winner - Turnbull High School

Highly commended – Connecting Classrooms Scotland, India Cluster

Highly commended – Mearns Primary School

Highly commended – Drymen Primary School

Highly commended – Milngavie Primary School and Early Years Centre

Highly commended – North Rhins Partnership Schools